No. 19011/30/81- Allowances
Government of India/ Bharat Sarkar
Ministry of Home Affairs/ Grih Mantralaya
Department of Personnel & Administrative Reforms
(Karmik Aur Prashasnik Sudhar Vibhag)

New Delhi, the 13th October, 1981


Subject: Grant of Transit time/ Joining time to cover journey from / to a remote locality while proceeding on/ or returning from leave.

The undersigned is directed refer to this Departmentís OM No.21011/12/79-Allowances, dated 16th November. 1979 on the above mentioned subject and to issue the following executive instructions, pending amendment to the Central Civil Services (Leave) Rules:-

1) The Chief Commissioner, Andaman (CC) and the Administrator, Lakshdweep shall be empowered to grant extended joining time upto 15 das under SR 294-A to Govt. Servants while proceeding to and on returning from leave in cases of enforced halt at Calcutta/ Madras on account of delayed sailing of the ship. The Chief Commissioner/ Administrator shall further be authorized to re-delegate these powers to Heads of offices under their Administrative Control.

2) The Chief Commissioner/ Administrator are delegated full powers to increase the maximum period of 7 days joining time in special circumstances when a voyage to or from Calcutta or Madras takes a longer time.

3) A govt. servant domiciled in the Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands and recruited for service within that territory, when posted for service on mainland in the public interest shall be entitled to joining time once in a year while proceeding to and returning from Andaman and Nicobar Lakshadweep Islands on leave.


(M.R. Bhardwaj)


1.All Ministries/ Departments of Government of India.

2.The Comptroller and Auditor General of India, New Delhi

3.Presidentís Secretariat

4.Vice Presidentís Secretariat

5.Prime Ministerís Office

6.Lok Sabha Secretariat

7.Rajya Sabha Secretariat

8.Cabinet Secretariat

9.Union Public Service Commission, New Delhi

10.Supreme Court of India

11.Election Commission

12.Planning Commission

13.Staff Selection Commission, Khan Market, new Delhi