No 15014/1/93-Estt. (Allowances)
Government of India
Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pension
Department of Personnel & Training

Dated the 19th November, 1993


Subject:- Grant of OTA to Canteen employees of the Non-statutory Departmental Cooperative Canteens/Tiffin Rooms located in the Central Government offices and registered with Director (Canteens)

The undersigned is directed to say that this Department ha been receiving references from various Ministries / Departments on payment of overtime allowance to Canteen employees in the wake of the Supreme Court judgment on the Canteen employees. In pursuance of this judgment, Canteen employees of the Non-statutory Department / Cooperative Canteens/ Tiffin Rooms located in Central Government offices and registered with Director (Canteens) have been extended all benefits as admissible to other Central Government employees of the comparable status vide this Departmentís OM No. 12/5/91-Dir ©, dated 29th January, 1982. The matter regarding payment of OTA to these employees has been considered in consultation with the Director (Canteens). Since the canteen employees observe the normal working hours coinciding with the office hours of the Ministries/ Departments and they have been treated as office staff, rates of OTA applicable to office staff as contained in para 2 of this Departmentís OM No. 15012/3/86-Estt.(Allowance), dated 19.3.91 shall be applicable to them.

2. In view of the instructions on economy, all Ministries/ Departments are advised to fix the normal duty hours of the canteen employees in such a way that they are not generally required to be deployed beyond the prescribed working hours.

3. The other conditions contained in Ministry of Financeís OM No. 15011/2/E-I(B), dated 11.8.76 as amended from time to time shall also be applicable to canteen employees.

4. In so far as the employees in the Departmental Canteens in the Indian Audit & Accounts Department Offices are concerned, these orders issue after consultation with the Comptroller and Auditor General of India.

5. These orders will be effective from the date of issue.

6. Hindi version is enclosed.



To: All Ministries/ Departments of the Government of India.

(as per standard list)

Copy also forwarded to:-

1. Controller General of Accounts/ Controller of Accounts, Ministry of Finance.

2. Secretaries to UPSC/ Supreme Court of India/ Election Commission/ Lok Sabha Sectt./ Rajya Sabha Sectt./ Central Vigilance Commission/ President Sectt./ Vice Presidentís Sectt./ PMO/ Planning Commission

3. All State Governments and Union Territories.

4. Governors of all States/ Lt. Governors of Union Territories.

5. Secretary, National Council (Staff Side), 13-c Feroz Shah Road, New Delhi.

6. All Members of the Staff Side of the National Council of JCM / Departmental Council.

7. All officers / Sections of the DOPT/ Department of Admnistrative Reforms & Public Grievances/ Department of Pension & Pensioners Welfare.

8. JCA Section, DOPT.

9. Ministry of Finance, Department of Expenditure (E-II (B) Br.

10. Official Language Wing (Legislative Deptt.), Bhagwan Dass Road, New Delhi.

11. Railway Board, New Delhi.

12. 200spare copies.